The Talmud (tahl-MOOD) is a collection of Jewish laws and teachings comprising the Mishnah and the Gemara (a commentary on the Mishnah). There are two Talmuds. The Palestinian (or Jerusalem) Talmud was completed in the mid-fifth century A.D.; the Babylonian Talmud, completed in the mid-sixth century A.D., became authoritative.

Join the BAS Library!

Already a library member? Log in here.

Institution user? Log in with your IP address.