Biblical Archaeology Review 45:3, May/June 2019

Strata: How Many?

According to the Bible, how many kings ruled the northern kingdom of Israel?

Answer: 19

Beginning with the kingdom’s founder, Jeroboam, and ending with Hoshea, who was defeated by the Assyrians (2 Kings 18:9–11), 19 kings ruled the northern kingdom of Israel. According to the Bible, their reigns spanned a period of about 200 years. Although there is scholarly debate about when the northern kingdom of Israel began—whether in the tenth or ninth century B.C.E.—the time frame portrayed in the Bible likely corresponds to the late tenth century through the late eighth century B.C.E. In chronological order, the names of the Israelite kings are: Jeroboam, Nadab, Baasha, Elah, Zimri, Omri, Ahab, Ahaziah, Joram, Jehu, Jehoahaz, Jehoash, Jeroboam II, Zechariah, Shallum, Menahem, Pekahiah, Peka, and Hoshea.

Join the BAS Library!

Already a library member? Log in here.

Institution user? Log in with your IP address.