You are here

Biblical Archaeology Review 47:2, Summer 2021

Publication Awards

Biblical Archaeology Review


BAS Publication Awards

Nominations are invited for the 2021 Biblical Archaeology Society Publication Awards for books published in 2019 and 2020.

The biennial BAS Publication Awards for books about archaeology and the Bible have been presented since 1985. These prestigious awards have been made possible by grants from:

Samuel D. Turner and Elizabeth Goss

Awards are presented in the following categories:

Best Popular Book on Archaeology

Best Scholarly Book on Archaeology


Jennie Ebeling, University of Evansville

Dan Schowalter, Carthage College

Cynthia Shafer-Elliott, William Jessup University

Best Book Relating to the Hebrew Bible


John Day, University of Oxford

Elaine James, Princeton Theological Seminary

John Walton, Wheaton College

Best Book Relating to the New Testament


Craig Evans, Houston Baptist University

Rafael Rodriguez, Johnson University

Sarah Rollens, Rhodes College


1. Nominations: Publishers or authors (or others) should send one copy of every nominated book to each of the judges in the relevant category. Please mark “BAS Publication Awards.” One copy should also be sent to BAS. For address information, please email

2. Judges may not nominate books not otherwise nominated.

Join the BAS Library!

Already a library member? Log in here.

Institution user? Log in with your IP address.