You are here

Biblical Archaeology Review 49:1, Spring 2023

BAS Publication Awards Announcement

Biblical Archaeology Review


BAS Publication Awards

Nominations are invited for the 2023 Biblical Archaeology Society Publication Awards, for books published in 2021 and 2022.

The biennial BAS Publication Awards for books about archaeology and the Bible have been presented since 1985. These prestigious awards have been made possible by a grant from: The Rohr Family in memory of Sami Rohr.

Awards are presented in the following categories:

Best Book on Archaeology

Hershel Shanks Award for Best Dig Report


Oded Borowski Emory University
Eric H. Cline George Washington University
Debra Foran Wilfrid Laurier University

Best Book on the Hebrew Bible


Elizabeth Backfish William Jessup University
Steed Davidson McCormick Theological Seminary
Amy-Jill Levine Hartford International University for Religion and Peace

Best Book on the New Testament


Annette Yoshiko Reed Harvard Divinity School
Jordan Ryan Wheaton College
Robyn Faith Walsh University of Miami


1. Nominations: Publishers, authors, or others should send one copy of every nominated book to each of the judges in the relevant category, as well as BAS. Please mark “BAS Publication Awards.” For address information, please email

2. Judges may not nominate books, nor can they judge books they have authored or edited.

3. All nominated books must have been physically or digitally published in English in 2021 or 2022.

Join the BAS Library!

Already a library member? Log in here.

Institution user? Log in with your IP address.